## GOVERNMENT

facilitate their international activities in a manner that would meet provincial objectives and be consistent with a unified Canadian foreign policy.

The federal government's position on provincial international relations was outlined in the 1968 White Paper *Federalism and international relations*, which emphasized that Canada's foreign relations must serve the interests of all provinces as well as those of its two major linguistic communities. To this end federal government policies include recognition of legitimate provincial interests beyond national borders and continued promotion of national unity through adequate projection internationally of Canada's distinct bilingual character.

Provincial participation at international conferences and in the work of international organizations on a wide range of subjects, including human and civil rights, education, health, agriculture and labour, is assured by the inclusion of interested provincial officials on Canadian delegations and by the canvassing of provincial governments for their views on the positions and attitudes which Canada might adopt on these subjects internationally.

Other aspects of Canada's international relations of particular interest to the provinces include the promotion of trade, investment, new industries, immigration, tourism, cultural exchanges, environmental questions, science and technology, assistance to developing countries and bilateral and multilateral agreements. The promotional activities of the provinces have led to an increase in the number of official provincial visits abroad. The federal government, through the Department of External Affairs and its Embassies and High Commissions, assists provincial officials by making arrangements and appropriate appointments for their visits abroad and in co-ordinating visits of foreign personalities to provincial capitals.

In matters of aid to developing countries, the federal government encourages wider federal-provincial consultation to ensure that specific provincial projects are co-ordinated with Canada's aid contribution as a whole.

**Treaty-making powers.** The federal government has exclusive responsibility for the conduct of external affairs as a matter of national policy affecting all Canadians. The policy of the federal government in discharging this responsibility is to promote the interest of the entire country and of all Canadians of the various provinces and territories within the over-all framework of a national policy.

Once it has been determined that what a province seeks to achieve through agreements, in fields of provincial jurisdiction, falls within the framework of Canadian foreign policy, the procedures provide for direct provincial participation in negotiating detailed arrangements with the competent authorities of the foreign country. When these arrangements are to be incorporated in an international agreement having legal effect, however, this can be achieved only through the exercise of the federal power to conclude treaties.

## 3.6.2 International activities

## 3.6.2.1 Canada and the Commonwealth

Originally a tightly knit coalition of five members, the Commonwealth has evolved into an international association of 33 sovereign states embracing approximately one quarter of the earth's land surface and population, the latter characterized by a diversity of races, colours, creeds and languages. Comprising both developed and developing countries, and governments committed to various international organizations, the Commonwealth represents a unique association whose members are bound by shared political and social values, similar attitudes and institutions, a similar political and historical experience, and a common language. The interests of its members extend to all continents.

Commonwealth members (with the year when membership was proclaimed in parentheses if post-1931) are as follows: Australia; Britain; Canada; New Zealand; The Bahamas (1973); Bangladesh (1972); Barbados (1966); Botswana (1966); Cyprus (1961); Fiji (1970); Gambia (1965); Ghana (1957); Grenada (1974); Guyana (1966); India (1947); Jamaica (1962); Kenya (1963); Lesotho (1966); Malawi (1964); Malaysia (1963) — when Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah joined the Federation in 1963, Malaya became Malaysia; Malta (1964); Mauritius (1968); Nauru (Special Member); Nigeria (1960); Sierra Leone (1961); Singapore (1965) — Singapore separated from Malaysia in 1965; Sri Lanka (Ceylon) (1948); Swaziland (1968); Tanzania (1964) — in 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar joined to form the

11